Imma commit to Git

Imma commit to Git

ยท

1 min read

As someone who never truly understood what Git was, I still wonder how I learned to use it.

2022 and the year before that, I would go to Youtube to watch tutorials on Github.

Needless to say, I never understood all the jargons being spoken.

I didn't see why anyone would bother to commit stuff to Github.

But when I started to learn HTML, CSS and JS early in 2022, I wanted to save my code in the cloud.

Same way, I would save my articles on Google Docs or Notes app.

Just in case, I lost my files, device or something of that nature.

So I searched Google and found the git commands. Then, created a repo.(Although I didn't understand shii).

I simply just followed the step-by-step instructions on how to push to GitHub.

And voila, I pushed and I've been pushing since then. ๐Ÿ˜‚

Now, I know the commands like the back of my hand.

Git add .

Git commit -m "Save for me"

Git push

I also learned to push from the CLI using the Github Personal Access Token.

Well, I'll discuss my journey with Ubuntu and the command line in another article.

Bye for now. ๐Ÿ‘‹

ย